Blogger Autobiographies | Along Abbey Road

farmersmarket6

To kick off this new Blogger Autobiographies series I introduce to you the lovely Abbey from Along Abbey Road. I have been following Abbey’s blog for a few years now and have seen her go from brunette to blonde, from mother of one to mother of two and lots of big and little adventures and transitions in between! Abbey blogs about family, food, fashion and more and I am always so struck by how genuine and sincere her posts are! I have found inspiration too many times to count from her blog and I am so happy to introduce her to so many of you today for the first time!! 🙂

When/Why did you first start blogging? Four years ago I worked for a major fashion retailer as a manager and merchandiser, and thought to myself, “Hey, I wear all of these cute clothes everyday! I should start a fashion blog!” The idea was inspired by the French bombshell, Le Blog de Betty, after reading about her in a fashion magazine. I thought it was such a dreamy and cool concept, and I wanted to do it, too. Although, looking back on my first few years makes me cringe a little, but it is fun to see how far it has come!

2) Why did you choose your blog name? I wanted something that felt “me” and didn’t necessarily tie me down to one topic. Despite the fact that my blog started out solely as a fashion and beauty blog, I figured it could grow into something else simply about my life journey, therefore Along Abbey Road was born! Obviously I am very much a fan of The Beatles, and have been since I was a tween, so when I said it out loud for the first time it just felt right. A lot of bloggers end up rebranding themselves, but I am still very happy about my blog name. It suits my blog perfectly, especially since it has morphed into a lifestyle blog.

3) What is the core story or purpose behind your blog? Inspiration. Both inward and outward. It is a place for me to spout off my ideas, thoughts, creative interests, emotions… the list goes on and on. Whatever I am thinking or feeling at that period in time, it appears on my blog. (That’s what is so great about having a “lifestyle” blog! The possibilities are endless for people such as myself that have ten million varying interests!) I love sharing the things that inspire me, and I hope that somehow, even if it is in the tiniest of ways, that my blog can inspire others or make them laugh. Truly, even if it only makes a difference to one person, I feel like I have succeeded in helping others out. I love seeing the beauty in the world, but I also hope that I come across as relatable and a friend, because those relationships and people are what matter at the end of the day.

4) What do you hope your blog will become and continue to be? Honestly, I feel like I am finally hitting that sweet spot with my blog where it has grown into everything I ever wanted it to become, without getting too out of control or unmanageable. The feel and aesthetic of it are finally at a place I am proud to share and promote, and it has also provided me some amazing opportunities to work with other creative people and brands. From this point, I only hope it will continue to grow and that people want to come visit my blog because it gives them that warm, happy feeling. I just recently read a quote that said, “When you do things from your soul, other people really dig that shit.” That is exactly what I want for Along Abbey Road! And maybe to land a sweet deal with a publisher, since it is my pipe dream to be a novelist 😉

5) What would be different in your life if blogs didn’t exist? Well, if blogs didn’t exist, Pinterest probably wouldn’t exist, and my house would look very dull… and we would eat cereal for every meal. But, seriously, all joking aside, I would be sad if they didn’t exist. I look to other blogs for parenting advice, fashion advice, cooking ideas, and all of that junk. I am sure I would just have another hobby in place of my blogging hobby now — maybe I would be a professional golfer? Who knows. I am tremendously grateful for the experiences blogging has made available to me. It’s not always easy, and a lot of times I want to sack it all, but when I look at the big picture, it has helped me grow into the person I always wanted to be and the woman I aim to be.

| for more Blogger Autobiography archives and information on the project go HERE |

One thought on “Blogger Autobiographies | Along Abbey Road

Leave a Reply

