The Humble Budget | #5 | Laundry Detergent

IMG_6591 copy

When Justin and I first got married we bought a giant container of laundry detergent and it lasted us a year and a half doing at least 1 load of laundry every week, more often 2-3.

As I noticed it was finally running out I knew it would be a good time to finally try making my own laundry detergent. I had heard for SO long how much cheaper it would be and how much better and more natural it is.

So, I went for it!

I used the recipe below, which I found HERE.

Ingredients

Directions

Thoroughly stir together for 5 minutes and enjoy the results! You can take this a step further and blend the mixture in a blender or food processor to create a powder that will dissolve easily even in cold water. (Just be sure to let the dust settle before removing the lid of your blender or food processor so you don’t inhale the fine particles.) Store in a sealed container with a small scoop.

To Use

Use 1 Tbsp per load (or 2-3 Tbsp for large or heavily soiled loads).

I LOVE that the recipe allows for a little bit of creativity in the soap that I can use, this time around I got an aloe soap, which I am loving, and next time I might try out a more natural/organic option, we’ll have to see!

I didn’t want to write this post until I had used the detergent a couple times to see how it works and after trying it for a couple weeks I can say with confidence that it is brilliant!! The detergent, even with the soap bits, dissolves in the water easily and doesn’t clump on the clothes at all and the laundry comes out well cleaned and smelling wonderful!

Not only does the choice to make your own laundry detergent give you a bit more control over the chemicals and products being used in your home, but it is also certainly financially savvy by saving at least $0.16 per load, which sounds like a small about, but over time that adds up!

If you haven’t attempted to make your own laundry detergent yet, I would highly encourage you to try it and then let me know what recipe you used and how you liked it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

