The Humble Budget | #7 | Chemicals

IMG_7250 copy

I am increasingly realizing how simple, and affordable, it can actually be to remove harsh chemicals from a home.

This post is all about replacement. Replacing hand soap, replacing glass cleaner, replacing dish detergent, replacing face wash and so much more.

For a long time, and a little even now, I felt that it was just easier to buy the cheaper chemical products and not even think about trying to see what better products I could be using. It seemed to me that it would be too much of a hassle and a waste of time to look into other options, that I assumed I couldn’t afford anyway, and the other products I was using couldn’t be that bad…right?

Well, as it turns out, it took Christmas money and an unplanned visit to Target to set me on the right track. I was initially perusing the makeup at Target but found myself in the cleaning supply aisle where I happened upon shelf after shelf of all natural/organic cleaning products for highly affordable prices. I must say, I was shocked. When did all of these products get to be so affordable? Well, I couldn’t answer that, but I could see how easily I could begin the replacement process without breaking our budget! It was a happy time in that Target aisle that evening. 🙂

Since that night I have, happily, replaced product after product and plan to continue to do so as I find more options available to me at an affordable price! The availability of in store and online options that are trustworthy is growing immensely and I am excited to see how much more affordable healthy and less harmful products continue to become!

It’s always an ongoing process, such is life, but I would encourage you to consider the daily products you are using in your house, mostly ones that you might not give very much thought to, but that you use to clean your spaces, your dishes and you, and then take a trip to Target, or Publix, and stroll down the cleaner aisle and see for yourself what products you could replace right away with organic or more natural choices at an affordable price!

You won’t be sorry! 🙂

(p.s. If, due to your budget, you must purchase non organic/all natural products, then I would suggest that you look for fragrance and dye free products that are actually readily available and are still a very good step in the right direction!)

Leave a Reply

