Bumpdate | 18 Weeks

IMG_9071 copy

How Far Along? 18 Weeks 4 Days

Weight Gain: I will admit I was still really thinking about calories and food and weight at the start of the week and the biggest thing that helped me was a fellow pregnant coworker who showed me a breakdown of actual weight gain during pregnancy.

  • Baby: 7-8 pounds
  • Placenta: 1-2 pounds
  • Amniotic fluid: 2 pounds
  • Uterus: 2 pounds
  • Maternal breast tissue: 2 pounds
  • Maternal blood : 4 pounds
  • Fluids in maternal tissue: 4 pounds
  • Maternal fat and nutrient stores: 7 pounds

Overall that’s 30-31 pounds! I couldn’t believe I had never considered or really even heard of the actual breakdown of weight during pregnancy. When I heard people say, ‘oh I gained 30 pounds over my pregnancy’ that translated as 30 pound of belly weight to my mind, or as the list puts it ‘maternal fat and nutrient stores’ weight. I had never even thought how the weight is distributed in so many different ways that I don’t control at all by my actual diet, like rise in the amount of blood flow and amniotic fluid. Being able to get my mind off of being so focused on actually belly weight gain was seriously SUCH a huge help to me and in calming unneeded worry and misunderstanding!

Maternity Clothes? Thanks to my brilliant Goodwill find of 3 more dresses and 2 more shirts I finally feel like I have enough pieces to coordinate with for a while! I’m still able to do a fair amount of mix matching between my maternity pieces and my normal wardrobe, which is nice, I think it’ll be surprising when I actually hit a point where maternity clothes will be pretty much the only thing that fits…it’ll be a while till then though, so for now, mix and matching it is!

Sleep? I’m waking up more during the night these days, not for very long at any point, just randomly for about 5-10 minutes about 2-4 times a night, normally rolling around to my opposite side gets me comfortable enough to fall back to sleep again.

Best moment this week? Realizing how big the baby is actually getting, 5 1/2 inches big this week! (See below photo) Thursday morning I actually measured out the length of the baby with a tape measure and put it up against my belly and it suddenly hit me again how quickly the baby seems to have grown. I must admit sometimes I still forget I’m pregnant, because I still haven’t felt the baby move and I’m still not that big it’s easy, in the midst of busy days, to forget that I am still carrying the little one around with me all the time. It was just a really surreal and special reminder. 🙂

Weird pregnancy moment? The back pain/twinges. I feel like all of my lower back joints suddenly got super smooshy and every time I stand up it almost seems like my lower vertebrates have to shift back into alignment. It’s kind of a weird way to describe it, but it really seems like the most accurate way to depict what it feels like!

Movement:  Not quite yet, very much hoping to have a different answer to this within the next couple weeks though!

Food Cravings: hmm, no nothing really, just food in general. We did make a homemade macaroni and cheese this week which was off the charts delicious and I found myself VERY much looking forward to every meal and leftover meal it was scheduled for!

Anything making you queasy? When I’m hungry and after I’ve just done any type of work or walk outside in the more hot part of the day, the aftermath of spending time out in the sun is lot more exhausting then it was before.

Gender: At this point I am 60% boy and 40% girl, 6 days though! We’ll know by the time of my next bumpdate, which is nuts to think about! 😀 I can’t believe we are actually at this point in the pregnancy!

 What I’m looking forward to: My anatomy scan appointment, hopefully having no trouble finding out the gender at that point, and praying for a healthy growing baby update at the time!

Happy 18 week birthday tiny pudge!!! GROW BABY GROW!!

IMG_9094 copy

 

Leave a Reply

