Morning by Morning

IMG_1015 copy

One of the things I was looking forward to the most about coming home from work was being able to walk in the mornings. I love morning time. The day hasn’t gotten tired yet, sometimes afternoon sun and air seems stale, like it’s just been around too long, but morning sun and air are always so fresh, even on the rainy days.

I walked outside a few times this morning, taking out the garbage, putting things for a goodwill run into my van, picking up packages, taking pictures around the apartment complex and a few other times. Each time I initially felt the need to rush to get what I was doing done only to realize that my time is not being demanded or set by anyone else but myself now. It was both thrilling and calming to realize that I could walk as slow as my pregnant body needed to and not feel the pressure of people waiting on me to get paperwork or projects to them.

I am very grateful to have worked while I was pregnant this time around. I don’t do well just sitting around, so having somewhere to go each day where I knew I could be productive was helpful for me, despite it being difficult to deal with pregnancy symptoms in a corporate setting at times.

This pregnancy has really gone by incredibly quickly. It’s strange because my body can’t really remember a time it wasn’t as pregnant as it is now, and yet in my mind I can still recall every detail of the night I found out I was pregnant. The course of a pregnancy is a strange and wonderful journey.

I actually have quite a few things I have planned to get done in the weeks before Theo is born, both daily activities and long term organization projects. It feels good to be able to invest in my home, my husband, and my hobbies in a more focused way for a while and as the hours continue to pass each day I remember more and more projects and ideas I can finally put my attention to that when I was working full time it was just easier to not think about because I didn’t have the time or energy for them.

I can’t believe in just a few weeks we’re going to have a baby in this space and my whole day will look even more different than it does now. We really can’t wait though 🙂 These are very special days of waiting that will eventually bring very special first days for a certain little boy that we are so excited to be able to finally hold and care for!

So many times when he moves around during the day I can feel little hands, elbows and knees stretching out inside of me and I like to cover the little bumps on my belly with my hands and think that it makes him know I am right there for him, ready to hold him whenever he’s ready to come out.

The mornings are bright and promising as they bring each new day and I am grateful for God’s blessings and provision that have never faltered even as we learn and grow in all of these new experiences and opportunities. More change is coming, more challenges too, but I think, as long as we live in a world that has mornings, we’ll be alright and encouraged to keep moving forward to each new morning that God gives us!

“Great is Thy faithfulness!” “Great is Thy faithfulness!”
Morning by morning new mercies I see;
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided—
“Great is Thy faithfulness,” Lord, unto me!

IMG_1018 copy

Leave a Reply

